i baked a pie… and they liked it!

Everyone that knows me knows I love to bake.  BUT- before last weekend I had never baked a pie before.  Now we have pie fever.  We’re going to try peach pie this weekend AND chicken pot pie too :)

IMG_3917

I used the Farm Chicks farmhouse apple pie recipe for the filling (because it was so simple) and Pioneer Woman’s pie crust recipe.  My Mom says it’s the best and flakiest she’s ever had?!

IMG_3911

IMG_3916

Before

IMG_3923

After :)  Did I mention it took forever to bake?  I baked it for an hour… took it out… panicked because it was super watery… called my Mom and had her come over to inspect the situation… we put it back in the oven for another HOUR and then it was perfect.  Haha!  I don’t think we’ll ever be able to bake one quite like this one again.

IMG_3929

IMG_3930

Since I’m not a fan of fruit pies, I’m really excited to make a chicken pot pie this Sunday.  Perfect food for a cozy fall football day.

xoxo toni 2

Leave a Reply

